Case Studies

Fact Sheets

Mailing Problems


Events Calendar

Newspapers Canada Conference 2016 

Canadian Community Newspaper Awards


 Great Idea Awards




Canadian Media Circulation Audit



Community Media Canada

Member Login

News On News - English

Stay informed on our latest news!

Syndicate content

Boards of Directors

Although the Canadian Newspaper Association and the Canadian Community Newspapers Association are co-managed under the Newspapers Canada brand, each association is governed by its own board of directors. Each board is comprised of publishers and senior executives representing the diverse interests of the association's membership. The role of the boards is to identify priorities, approve a budget, develop policy, oversee the committees, and monitor the associations' directions and performance. Committees are chaired by members of the board of directors.

Canadian Newspaper Association

Bob Cox, Publisher, Winnipeg Free Press

Craig Barnard, Senior Vice President, Reader Sales & Service/Flyer Force & Community Publishing Group, Postmedia

Neil Oliver, Group Publisher, Vice-President, Metroland West, Metroland

Phillip Crawley, Publisher and CEO, The Globe and Mail

John Cruickshank, Publisher, Toronto Star

Wendy Desmarteaux,Senior Vice-President Digital Operations and Transformation, Postmedia

Patricia Graham, Ombudswoman, Brunswick News Inc.

Julia Kamula, Senior Vice President, Local Solutions - Atlantic Canada and Saskatchewan, TC Media

Peter Kvarnstrom, President, B.C. Community Media, Glacier Media Inc.

Mike Power, Publisher, Toronto Sun

M. Martin Cauchon, Président, Le Soleil

President & Chief Executive Officer
John Hinds

Canadian Community Newspapers Association (CCNA)

Abbas Homayed, Northern Life, Sudbury, ON

Neil Thom, Yorkton This Week, Yorkton, SK

Roger Holmes, Star News Inc., Wainwright, AB

Chairman & Immediate Past President
Greg Nesbitt, Crossroads This Week, Shoal Lake, MB


BC and Yukon Community Newspaper Association
Tim Shoults, Glacier Media, Vancouver, BC

Andrew Franklin, The Abbotsford News, Abbotsford, BC

Alberta Weekly Newspapers Association
Jason Lyon, Rocky Mountain Outlook, AB
Roger Holmes, Star News Inc., Wainwright, AB

Saskatchewan Weekly Newspapers Association
Neil Thom, Yorkton This Week, Yorkton, SK

Manitoba Weekly Newspapers Association
Kim MacAulay, Clipper Weekly, Beausejour, MB

Ontario Community Newspapers Association
Abbas Homayed, Northern Life, Sudbury, ON
Gordon Cameron, Hamilton Community News, Hamilton, ON

Quebec Community Newspapers Association
Steve Bonspiel, The Eastern Door, Kahnawake, QC

Newspapers Atlantic
Paul MacNeill, Island Press, Montague, PEI

Association de la presse francophone
Francis Sonier, Acadie Nouvelle, Caraquet, NB

Chief Executive Officer
John Hinds