Goff Penny Awards

Enter now for the Annual Hon. Edward Goff Penny Memorial Prize

Let your talented young staffers know that entries are now open for the 2014 Goff Penny Memorial Prizes for Young Journalists.

This annual awards program is open to daily newspaper journalists between the ages of 20-25 working for CNA-member daily newspapers. Young freelance journalists and student interns whose work has been published in a CNA-member newspaper are also eligible to enter.

Eligible work must have been published during the 2014 calendar year.

All entries must be received by Friday, February 13, 2015.  Friday, February 20, 2015.

Competition winners are awarded cash prizes of $1,500 in two circulation categories, fewer than 25,000 and 25,000 and over. Prizes will be awarded at the Newspapers Canada conference in Toronto on May 22, 2015.

Click here for entry forms

Contest Information:

Rules of Entry and Judging Criteria
Entry Form
Previous Winners

For more information about the Goff Penny Memorial Prizes for Young Journalists please contact Taylor Kormann at tkormann@newspaperscanada.ca


About the Goff Penny Memorial Prizes for Young Journalists

The Edward Goff Penny Memorial Prizes for Young Canadian Journalists were established in 1991 at the bequest of the estate of the late Arthur G. Penny, grandson of Edward Goff Penny. The first awards were presented in 1992.

Arthur G. Penny, a former newspaper editor in the early 1920s with the old Quebec Chronicle and later a Quebec civil servant, died in 1963. In his last will and testament, he left provisions that, upon the death of his wife and son, two prizes for young journalists should be established in memory of his grandfather, Edward Goff Penny.

The Hon. Edward Goff Penny rose from the position of reporter at the Montreal Herald in the late 1800s to editor and publisher. He was the first president of the Parliamentary Press Gallery in Ottawa and in 1874 became the first newspaper reporter to be appointed to the Senate.

In keeping with the terms of the bequest, the annual awards offer cash prizes to two individuals working or writing for daily newspapers in two circulation classes: under 25,000 and 25,000 and over. Prize money is $1,500 for each category. Competitors are required to submit four (4) editorial articles published during the 2014 calendar year. Entrants must be between the ages of 20 and 25 at the time of publication in order to be eligible for consideration.