National Newspaper Awards

The National Newspaper Awards were established in 1949 by the Toronto Press Club with the financial and moral support of the late C. George McCullagh. Each year, the NNAs honour the best journalism in daily newspapers and digital publications.

Since 1989, the awards have been governed by a Board of Governors representing both daily newspapers and the public. The awards are administered by the Canadian Daily Newspaper Awards Programme Administration Corporation.

The National Newspaper Awards are funded through an annual fund-raising program (to which almost 65% of Canadian newspapers contribute), entry fees, newspaper corporate donations to assist in the awards gala, and ticket sales to the gala.

To be eligible for the 2013 competition, an entry must have been published this year by a Canadian daily newspaper (in print or online) in English or French, or by an Internet site that meets eligibility criteria established by the Board of Governors.

This year’s winners will be announced next May30 at a gala dinner in Charlottetown, P.E.I.

Details about the awards program, including past winners, can be found at

National Newspaper Awards
890 Yonge St.,Suite 200
Toronto, ON. M4W 3P4.
Tel: 416-923-3567
Fax: 416-923-7206